Unofficial ToB 2011 Contest: Semifinal Match 1 Leaderboard Update

Current Leaderboard:

1. (14/18) Jim
2. (tie) (13/18) Christy, Jed, and Mike
5. (tie) (11/18) David, Jeremy, Kathryn, Kevin from Canada, Meagan, and Susan
11. (tie) (10/18) Darren, Elizabeth, Gavin, Greg, Kinna Reads, and Lillian

My preferred winner of Semifinals Match Two: The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake

Contest Entrants’ Choices:

This is kind of a Butler vs. VCU type matchup. Only one person correctly predicted that Next and Lemon Cake would make it to the Pre-Zombie Round Final Four. (Congrats, Susan. She predicts Next will advance.) So there can be no aggregation of pre-tournament predictions regarding this matchup. Anyway, this crowd has about as much wisdom, judging purely on results, as the coin in my pocket. Of course, that’s still more wisdom than I have…

I find myself in the surprising position of hoping that Lemon Cake wins this, mainly because I was less offended by it than by Next. Of course, to be as offended as I am by Next could suggest it accomplished something. But my position is that its lack of accomplishment is precisely what offends me. It tricked me into thinking it might have something interesting to say and then only pretends to have said something. Or I could just be misunderstanding the whole thing.

Go Lemon Cake! With or without chocolate frosting, whichever Zombies prefer to eat.

4 Responses to Unofficial ToB 2011 Contest: Semifinal Match 1 Leaderboard Update

  1. Jen says:

    But my position is that its lack of accomplishment is precisely what offends me. It tricked me into thinking it might have something interesting to say and then only pretends to have said something.

    Funny, I was going to say the same thing about Lemon Cake. I think we’re at odds at this one. Given the 2 choices—both terrible!—I think I find Next less offensive.

    I keep wondering what I should read now that the Tournament is over.

    • Kerry says:

      I would have a hard time arguing with you on that. For me, Lemon Cake went sour earlier (as far as going anywhere interesting), so I don’t hold the lack of accomplishment against it as much. That is a poor defense of my position. Failing to meet lower expectations does not a better book make.

    • Kerry says:

      And I would recommend going with a sure-fire classic as the Tournament winds down. Find something by an author you know you love and that is highly regarded. At least, I find that approach helps me sort of recalibrate and cleanse my palette.

      • Jenny says:

        I’ve actually turned to non-fiction. I think after reading all those novels so fast, I needed something really different. Luckily, it’s the super interesting “Nature’s Metropolis.” Which I picked off my TBR pile before the author became all famous for being picked on by the Governor of Wisconsin.

Leave a Reply

