Number9Dream by David Mitchell

Ghostwritten, which I really enjoyed, is David Mitchell’s first novel. I had decided previously to read his oeuvre in order which brought me to this, his second novel. Number9Dream is a more significant achievement than Ghostwritten and I also enjoyed it more. I did not get the same rush from reading a new and original author because Mitchell was no longer new to me, but I liked this story better.

Number9Dream2At the beginning of this book, you may feel a little disoriented or pushed off balance by the fantasizing of the main character, Eiji Mayake, a nineteen-year-old Japanese boy. Do not worry, you are in the skilled hands of David Mitchell. He will soon slow the world’s spinning so you can orient yourself to this unique and beautiful world he has created. Whether you like his writing, the man knows what he is doing.

Mitchell keeps ideas and plot streaming at the reader, so that, even when I felt I had not gotten a foothold yet or thought I had become lost, I wanted to keep going. The basic plot driver is pretty simple and serves as an early and effective hook. Eiji Mayake has come to Tokyo to find his father whom he has never met.

The book is divided into nine sections (dreams). In the first, Eiji is sitting in a cafe imagining different scenarios in which he infiltrates PanOpticon, a large office building, to retrieve a file containing his father’s identity. The fantasies are quite boyish, often involving violent confrontations that involve Eiji heroically overpowering grown men or, alternatively, blasting his way to freedom using sci-fi weapons. In this first section, Eiji is a nineteen-year-old adolescent, not yet a man.

By the end of the novel, Eiji has matured as a result of adventures, misadventures, and relationships he has along the way. In that sense, the novel is a coming-of-age story about an orphaned Japanese boy. There is much more to it than that, however.

For instance, PanOpticon figures prominently in this first section. Mitchell has something to say about large, Number9Dreamimpersonal organizations (the ideas of Foucault, for instance, are invoked by PanOpticon) that so often control details of our lives. PanOpticon is a watcher, but it is also watched by Eiji. This theme of watchers, being watched, and power relations is repeated throughout the novel.

At heart, though, the novel is about Eiji’s search for identity, family, and meaning. He has never met his father and his mother abandoned him when he was three. In the second section, “Lost Property”, we learn how Eiji’s only other immediate family member, his twin sister Anju, died at the age of eleven. Eiji and Anju were shuttled from relative to relative throughout his childhood, more so after Anju’s death, and, therefore, Eiji has little sense of family or belonging.

He invests with fantastic hopes the prospect of meeting his father. He knows his father is a powerful and wealthy man. He imagines meeting his father will solve many of his problems, will make him whole again. Of course, the reality is that Eiji’s father cheated on his wife with Eiji’s mother. When Eiji’s mother, the father’s mistress, became pregnant, Eiji’s father abandoned her. The reality is that any reunion is unlikely to be as neatly fulfilling as Eiji imagines.

Also in the first section, Eiji sees a girl with a perfect neck. Here too, his youthful fantasies outstrip reality. Eiji manages to do little other than watch her. But this is a coming-of-age story. As the novel progresses Eiji begins to piece together a reality and become proactive rather than following his usual course which is to escape into wishful fantasies.

David Mitchell manages this transition very well. By the end of the novel, Eiji has matured in a convincing manner to see the world more as it is. Of course, this reality includes plenty of coincidences, an angry stepmother, a mysterious Admiral Raizo who has some connection to Eiji’s father, a girl, a computer hacker who goes where he should not, the yakuza (Japanese mafia), high-class and secretive brothels, a computer supervirus, and plenty of opportunities for Eiji to die. So, while the transition is perhaps the underlying backbone of the novel, the narrative is fleshed out with exciting subplots, red herrings, and action.

Aside from Eiji’s fantasies, Mitchell also expertly manages to weave into the novel several other texts. Eiji receives several letters from his emotionally struggling mother, Eiji reads short stories on the writing desk of another character, and he obtains a journal of a relative who fought in World War II for the Japanese. David Mitchell gives each of these narratives within the narrative its own, authentic voice.

For an example of Eiji’s own voice, there is this passage, early in the novel, in which Eiji is walking down the street after twin humiliations:

Postdownpour sweat and grim regrunge Tokyo. The puddles steam dry. A street musician sings so off-key that passersby have a civic duty to smash his guitar on his head and relieve him of his coins. I head back toward the Shinjuku subway because I have nowehere else to go in this mortgaged city except my capsule. The crowds are beaten senseless by the heat and march out of step. I am beaten senseless by boiling annoyance and tired guilt. I feel I have broken a promise. I cannot understand this. My father’s doorbell is lost at an unknonw grid reference in the city street guide. Could be around this corner, could be halfway to Yokohama…

What Mitchell does extremely well is to weave together multiple genres, really, into a single coherent narrative. Eiji’s fantasies are usually action-packed sci-fi tales, his mother writes grounded, emotional letters, the short stories are fables which anthropomorphize animals, the journal is historical fiction, and the narrative reality swings from romance to gangster noir. The mastery is not simply to include bits of so many genres, but to use this distinct voices in the service of a deeper meaning. Each element pushes forward Mitchell’s exploration of meaning and individual’s need to create narrative to explain the world.

In lesser hands, these elements could fly apart. Mitchell is too talented to allow any such thing. What we get then is a novel that often seems on the verge of spinning out-of-control or into incoherence, but is pulled deftly back into orbit around engaging philosphical questions. The novel seems to improve as it goes forward until, by the end, it is quite a good novel indeed.

Too expose much more of the plot would reveal too many delightful surprises. Be assured that there is both depth and humor to go with the action:

Here comes my killer, checking his gun. What was it all for? Anju was overwhelmed by the ocean. I am just underwhelmed. I sneeze again. Sneezing, now! I want to ask my nose, Why bother? The breeze is cool off the drained sea.

Another important element to Mitchell’s fiction are his references to pop culture, literature, and the like. He references both his own prior novel Ghostwritten (with a returning character who has a bit part here) and his subsequent novel (the phrase “cloud atlas” is used by Mitchell in number9dream). He also weaves in references to John Lennon, a hero of Eiji’s, and the number nine appears throughout (John Lennon’s song #9dream is an obvious reference point and Lennon himself was enthralled with the number nine).

Ultimately, I think this is a book about meaning and the way meaning shifts. Or maybe ideas of family and how those ideas shift. Or both. Eiji initially defines his life as a search for his father, as if meeting his father will make the pieces of his life fit neatly into place, give him meaning. The reality, of course, is that life is messy. As soon as a chosen hill is crested, there are others from which we must choose unless we simply stagnate. As Eiji learns, life does not have one fixed meaning for everyone or even for an individual. Meaning can be reduced to something as banal as locating someone who shares your DNA or it can be something deeper and more fulfilling.

Like meaning, family is not a fixed concept, but a fluid one. We build our families as we mature. Eiji builds relationships throughout the novel that are more important, more genuine, and more satisfying than forced meetings between blood relatives. Eiji discovers this, if not so explicitly, and is much improved for the discovery.

Number9Dream is a very intelligent novel. While I am not entirely enthralled by Mitchell, I am looking forward to Cloud Atlas. Mitchell is a unique voice in literature with something to say about the world. I am quite pleased I decided to enjoy his novels in the order they were published. I think I will get more out of Cloud Atlas having read these two, than I otherwise would have. This is particularly so because of Mitchell’s fondness for referencing his own work. It will likely be a few months before I read Cloud Atlas, but I look forward to it.

8 Responses to Number9Dream by David Mitchell

  1. I haven’t read Ghostwritten, or Cloud Atlas, but I loved this book. The opening line had me hooked, and I thought the characters were incredibly fascinating. Some of the scenes towards the end of the book, specially the bowling one, disturbed the living daylights out of me, but I couldn’t stop reading.

    I have Cloud Atlas in the pipelines, and am really looking forward to reading it.

  2. Kerry says:

    The bowling scene is ridiculously disturbing. And, you are right, uncertainprinciples, there are other disturbing scense too. But the story is very compelling.

    You did a good job of conveying, in your own post, the various subplots that drive the story. Mitchell is a very skilled at weaving his more philosophical aspirations into a ripping yarn so that both are enhanced. The guy is good.

    I am excited that his masterpiece, Cloud Atlas is next for me. And for you too, apparently. You will probably get to Cloud Atlas first, so I look forward to your post. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Fascinating.

    I do wish that SF novels in Japan would occasionally omit the Yakuza and capsule hotels (I’ve stayed in one actually, it’s not that exciting), but there seems some writers’ union requirement for including these elements.

    Otherwise though it sounds very interesting. Like you, I plan to read Mitchell in order, but in the meantime I do look forward to your reaching Cloud Atlas and your thoughts on that.

  4. Kerry says:

    I haven’t read enough SF novels in Japan to recognize the tropes, but I can imagine.

    I will do my best to give an interesting review of Cloud Atlas when I get to it. It will be a few months, I am sure, but I don’t want to wait too long.

  5. Better not to have Kerry, there were a lot of them in the 80s back when Japan was the future, and many frankly weren’t very good. Lots of people trying to copy Neuromancer, generally without success.

  6. Kerry says:

    I actually have not read Neuromancer. I probably should. I thoroughly enjoyed Cryptonomicon which, I am sure, owes many debts to the Gibson classic.

  7. I wrote it up over on mine, http://pechorinsjournal.wordpress.com/2008/11/18/the-sky-above-the-port-was-the-color-of-television-tuned-to-a-dead-channel/, funnily enough one of the quotes I chose includes a capsule hotel. If it sounds interesting from that you might like it, but it is much more a blend of sf and crime than it is a blend of sf and literary fiction (Mitchell’s beat as best I can tell).

Leave a Reply

