TOB 2015 Contest:  Update March 21

So far, so good.  By which, I mean that at least several of the books I would find acceptable as champions are still alive.  My favorite too.  I am not quite sure yet whether the list of acceptables includes A Brief History of Seven Killings, but I think it does.  In fact, so far, it is making me rethink my favorites and has me watching a Bob Marley documentary.

But you care mostly about the standings.  They’ve changed.  Melanie and Jeremy are still at #1, but with additional company.

TOB 2015 Contest Standings (as of March 21, 2015)

1-4.  Melanie, Jeremy, Timothy, and Me – 8 points out of a possible 12.

5-6.  Lillian and Felicity – 7 points

No one is mathematically eliminated, yet.  Also, no one has a chance to go the opposite of perfect, which has happened.  Too bad.  The worst possible score at this point is 3.

Best of luck to everyone.  That isn’t really possible, but it is polite.

4 Responses to TOB 2015 Contest:  Update March 21

  1. Lisa Hill says:

    Uh, A Brief History of Seven Killings. I’ve got this book but haven’t been tempted so far. Do tell me, does it transcend an affection for Bob Marley? Will I like it if Bob Marley has somehow passed me by?

    • Kerry says:

      It is hard for me to say, yet. I am about a fifth into it and I like it. It is violent, but, so far, it is more about Jamaican culture (at least the brutal, gang-affiliated portion of it) in the 1970s and early 1980s than about Marley. Other than the Jamaican connection, I am not sure interest in Bob Marley would help or an absence of interest would hurt.

      Maybe I should report back later. The biggest hurdles to enjoyment seem to be the graphic violence (McCarthy comes to mind) and narration of most chapters using Jamaican patois (I don’t find it distracting or difficult to follow, but it is a common complaint among the less enamored). Politics plays a role too, both Jamaican politics and geopolitics (i.e. U.S. foreign policy as promoted through the CIA).

  2. Lisa Hill says:

    I’d be interested in your review. I can put up with violence, and don’t mind patois, but the book has to be about something interesting – for me that’s not a person, it’s an idea.
    Methinks I’ll let it languish on the shelves a little longer until *no pressure* I see your review.

    • Kerry says:

      I am still working my way through, Lisa. I will provide my thoughts after I finish, but I am still enjoying it and still impressed with Marlon James’s writing.

Leave a Reply

