My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: May 12, 2011

The Reading Ape continues his interesting series on book-blogging. His latest: Whom Do You Review For? (My answer in his comments. And, yes, I will be publishing a review soon.)

Eugene Volokh, a brilliant law blogger (blawger) and the person who recommended the book to me, posts not once but twice in the past week on Neal Stephenson’s Cryptonomicon. [By the way, on re-reading, I realized that I made it sound much more like a personal recommendation that it was. He talked about the book in laudatory fashion, I picked it up when I saw it on a shelf because of his comments. To be clear. heh.]

Novel rejected? There is an e-book gold rush!” (Washington Post)

Literary Hill BookFest – a new, annual event to celebrate Capitol Hill (Washington, D.C.) writers.

I should have linked to this before, but May is Short Story Month over at the Emerging Writers Network. (Thanks to Sasha for alerting me to this event. And she is participating.)

Whispering Gums is traveling in Japan.

And, finally, another party to which I am late: A Rat in the Book Pile has been ripping through a number of great books recently, including The Master and Margarita which I loved.

7 Responses to My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: May 12, 2011

  1. Wow, that was quick Kerry! Will check out The Reading Ape and your comments when I get a chance, btw.

  2. David says:

    Thanks for pointing me to Sasha and the Ape. New blogs for my inbox. As if I didn’t already have enough to read….

    • Kerry says:

      I know the feeling. Just like the standard TBR pile, the TBR blog roll or RSS feed or WordPress subscription can become scarily long. There are so many interesting bloggers. I loved your “Cotton-Candy Covers” post. I can resist both cotton candy and the covers, but, while reading your post, just barely resisted grabbing “A Great Catch.” They create in me a morbid curiosity to see what is inside. I have a suspicion they would do for me what horror films do for others…..

  3. Sarah says:

    Thanks for the link, Kerry. I have been enjoying my Russian lit phase and am reading faster than I can blog, but I do have a lot of lost time to make up for. I get the distinct impression that a Russian splurge is something which most people undertake fairly early in their reading careers. I feel that I, too, am late to the party!

    Good to hear that a review is on the way. Had figured that you had either embarked on a mega tome, or are subject to an increased and disabilitating work load. Tempted to ask what you have been reading, but perhaps you want to surprise us?

  4. The first link (“Whom Do You Review For?”) is quite interesting. I started off reviewing for myself, and now, it’s a bit more of sharing thoughts with other readers who have experienced the books/authors I am reading. So many comments are eye-openers, and get me thinking of things I didn’t previously… it is amazing!

    I’ve been enjoying Sarah’s Russian lit obsession, with a tinge of envy, for I’d love to devote that much time to the Russian classics. I’m afraid I don’t have the discipline.

    • Kerry says:

      Thanks for commenting. I do find The Great Ape’s series very interesting and it did make me think a little more about what I am doing. I absolutely agree with you that my purpose in starting to blog is different than my reason for continuing to blog. And readers have definitely changed how I blog.

      I agree on all points re: Sarah’s Russian lit extravaganza. It’s the next best thing to reading them myself…..

Leave a Reply

