My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: July 25th, 2010

Dzanc Books’ 20 Writers to Watch – an Alternate List – (I missed this link via The Mookse and the Gripes earlier.)

Rare recordings of William Faulkner reading” – Oregon Live

Lost Kafka writings resurface, trapped in trial” – Associated Press

A Report on the Vonnegut Effect” – Jacob Lambert at The Millions

Who do you write like? (Pointless time waster via Later On)

MostlyFiction Book Reviews has their Favorites of 2010 (so far)

Some Nearly Forgotten 1950s Novels that are Exceptionally Good (I can vouch for Wise Blood, the others beckon.)

Whispering Gums reviews MJ Hyland, a Tony’s Book World recommended author. If one more person writes about her, I will have to run to the bookstore immediately…..

Mrs. KfC visits Dovegreyreader, a guest post (Mrs. KfC guest posts are always a hit round these parts…)

9 Responses to My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: July 25th, 2010

  1. You mean it takes three to convince you? Who can I round up? (Thanks for the link, anyhow, and I do hope you get around to reading her one day!)

  2. kimbofo says:

    MJ Hyland is one of my faves too, although I’m yet to read her latest.

  3. Maria Hyland says:

    Hello. If you do rush out and buy a copy of one of my books, I very much hope you’re not disappointed. But please do tell me what you think, either way: mjhyland2005@gmail.com. Yours, Maria (MJ) Hyland

    • Kerry says:

      I am finger-tied. Based on the recommendation of Whispering Gums, in whose literary palate I have the utmost confidence, I am sure I will not be disappointed. With three comments to wake me this morning, two from bloggers whose recommendations I always value and one from you, the author, I will read your latest soon. Very soon.

      I will post my thoughts here and, if you please, e-mail a copy to you.

      For stopping by, thank you.

      Soon to be a fan, I am sure, and already charmed,
      Kerry

  4. Kerry says:

    Whispering,

    Your recommendation is more than enough to put her on the long-term TBR. The magic of three is just to move her onto my “must read now” list…

    Kimbofo,

    Thanks. I will definitely read MJ Hyland and soon. I am going to start with the latest, I think.

    That is, unless either of you feel strongly that I should start somewhere else.

  5. Wow, how exciting to have the author comment. As I’ve only read the most recent I can’t say whether you should start with another but I certainly found this one a great one to read (obviously!!).

  6. Sarah says:

    I am not so sure that ‘Who do you write like?’ is a waste of time. Since I apparently write like Dan Brown I will cease wasting my time forthwith!

  7. Kerry says:

    @Sarah: LOL. Well, you could make millions…

    I won’t lie and say that I got her the first time, but I used a bit of fiction I wrote and came up with Ursula K. Le Guin.

    Another snippet is David Foster Wallace-like, apparently. And, another like Stephen King.

    But a snippet from this blog: Dan Brown.

    Doh.

    • LOL, Sarah (and Kerry). I thought the same when I got Stephanie Meyer!

      I was so horrified that I tried again. The next two times I got David Foster Wallace. I decided to quit while I was ahead at that point (not that I’ve yet read any Wallace…)

Leave a Reply

