My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: November 17, 2011

My Disappointment Critic” – Jonathan Lethem on James Wood. (L.A. Review of Books)

Albert Camus, who died an atheist at 46, had surprisingly deep ties to Judaism in his life, his political activity, and his philosophy.” (Tablet)

The King of Human Error” – Michael Lewis discusses the Nobel-winning researchers who established the scientific foundation for Money Ball(Vanity Fair)

4 Responses to My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: November 17, 2011

  1. Yoo hoo Kerry, everything OK? Seems all quiet over here. Just checking.

    • Kerry says:

      Thank you very much for checking. I apologize for my neglect of the blog. I truly had not realized, in the fog of other responsibilities, that it had been a month since my last post. Shame, shame on me.

      I have been avidly following the Shadow Man Asian Literary Prize 2011 coverage, though not commenting, and Meanjin’s Tournament of Books 2011 (Australian Women Writers), again with few comments.

      On the latter, I can say that it will affect my reading habits. Helen Garner (the winner) has a new reader and, assuming I love it and still have an audience of two besides you, will be promoting it to others once I do read it. I found it hard to get involved in comments because I had not read any of the works. (How pathetic is that?) The comments by those of you who had familiarity with the works were very entertaining and enticing.

      In my ideal world, I would have made an effort to read along, at least a few of the works. Timing was not great for me this year. I hope Meanjin (or someone) has another similar tournament next year. These things also grow audiences over time, so I think it could become much more influential in years to come than perhaps it was this year. (Responding to your evident disappointment in recapping the finale.)

      Thanks, again, for checking and my apologies for making it necessary.

      • No apologies needed … great to know you’ve been reading those Asian and Meanjin posts and thrilled you are giving Garner a go.

        You don’t have to blog frequently — it is a hobby after all — but I enjoy reading your posts and so just wanted to make sure you were OK and that it’s just other priorities.

        BTW it’s not pathetic to not comment where you haven’t read. Of course I always welcome comments from you but if you don’t feel inspired to comment about something you haven’t read then there’s nothing pathetic about that.

        I will remain patient … and reserve the right to check on you again in future if I feel like it!

      • Kerry says:

        I really hadn’t realized how long it had been. I knew I took Thanksgiving off, but a missed post here, a missed post there, suddenly its almost Christmas. Jimminy!

        I really do thank you for checking up on me. It’s nice to be missed a little. I plan to post regularly (including next week and the week after) through the ToB at least. I have plenty of books to write about (I have gotten into an unusual (for me) position of having quite a few read but unposted books. I tend to post fairly soon after reading the books, but my summer backlog has only grown.

        All this to say, lots on taps and thanks!

Leave a Reply

