Unofficial TOB 2012 Contest: Winner

The fact that my prediction The Tiger’s Wife was off does not make me sad, nor does The Sense of an Ending‘s failure to even make the Finals. But for Open City, my second favorite book in the Tournament, to fall three votes short of glory hurts. The Sisters Brothers is entertaining, but I really do not think it Rooster-worthy. But my opinions don’t count, nor are they particularly in line with the judges’ opinions, as my results show. Others of you fared better and you are who this post is for.

Unofficial TOB 2012 Contest Leaderboard: Final Standings
March 30, 2012

Match update:
Match 1, Zombie Round: The Sisters Brothers defeated Lightning Rods
Match 2, Zombie Round: Open City defeated The Art of Fielding
Championship Match: ​The Sisters Brothers 10, Open City 6

Winner:
AMY C. with a more than shabby 31.

She picked the winner and enough points along the way to secure all of the glory. She was also the first entrant this year which means she would have won on the final tie-break if anyone had come close to matching her picking prowess.

Congratulations, Amy, both on your win and on seeing your favorite book of the Tournament take the crown. Well done. I will e-mail you to find out your prize selections.

The Bridesmaids:

2. Elizabeth L. 16 (She would have won by one point (24-23) over Amy and Brad (#3) if Open City had triumphed.)

3. Brad M. 15

4. Andrew B. 14 (The Art of Fielding)
Felicity 14

The next closest competitors had twelve (12) points, making me feel slightly less ashamed of my ridiculous ten (10). An unprecedented number failed to crack double digits (over half the field). My suggestion for next year: Pick the opposite of what you expect to happen, unless your name is Amy.

The Caboose:

Kathy 1 ***New Record!***

14 Responses to Unofficial TOB 2012 Contest: Winner

  1. amycrea says:

    Wow! Yay! Go me! 🙂

  2. Well done, Amy. You are totally awesome.

  3. amycrea says:

    Oh, careful Kevin, my head is already swelling.

  4. Brad McGinty says:

    Thanks again for running this delightful side contest! And for all the math!

  5. neighbors73 says:

    Thanks for hosting again. I couldn’t even bear to look at my picks I was so far off the money. Oh well. Next year!!!

  6. neighbors73 says:

    You know what my problem is with these things: I never know whether to pick what I THINK should win versus what I think WILL win. Bah.

    • Kerry says:

      Yes, the eternal ToB dilemma! I am starting to think I will just pick what I want to win, because my predictions are so poor (and infected by wishes anyway).

      But I have a year to revert to standard practice…..

  7. Mike Ramberg says:

    Thank you so much for your dedication to this cause. For the record, I am enjoying The Sisters Brothers quite a bit. Had I read it before the tournament, I like to think I’d have picked differently, but who am I kidding?

  8. You can’t win ’em all Kerry and you do have the glory of being the convenor. (Am going to read The sense of an ending in the next couple of months, and looking forward to it).

    • Kerry says:

      Actually, I am not sure I can win any of them, Sue. But I’ll keep trying. (I lost my college BB pool too, though at least there I did pick the eventual winner. I didn’t watch any games during the season, so maybe if I don’t read any of the books, I will do better at picking winners?)

      • I sometimes think that “eeny meeny miny moe” would work just as effectively when it comes to subjective decision making! Still, that’s not as much fun is it!

      • Kerry says:

        Half the fun is pretending it is possible to predict these things…….the delusion is much easier to maintain if multiple people score well. This year “eeny meeny” bested well over half of us.

  9. Sarah says:

    Congratulations to Amy, of course, but also to Kathy in the caboose. There is something to be said for being spectacularly off the beaten track, as opposed to muddling along in the mediocrity of the middle!

    Thanks for running this, Kerry. I have been following the judgements with interest (and some swearing!) but it’s been fun.

    • Kerry says:

      Thanks for playing and following along, Sarah. Kathy’s feat is impressive. I really do not expect anyone to come close for awhile. Of course, I thought your record was pretty safe too…..

      Yes, the muddled mediocrity is exactly where I’ve been fitting in. I would much prefer distinction of some kind.

Leave a Reply

