My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: September 22, 2011

My most favorite thing: A magic 600. Congratulations!

My least favorite thing: I haven’t yet read Patrick White, though I have meant to, am meaning to, and will be meaning to do so. Sooner is necessary. (ANZ LitLover with an enticing review of The Eye of the Storm, but maybe I need to start somewhere else?)

Given my newfound appreciation for poetry, Interpolations chose a good time to debut this original work of his former self. I liked it. Manguso has done a number on me.

9 Ways of Looking at a Single Paragraph (The Millions)

Sarah’s Review of Lighthousekeeping by Jeannette Winterson (A Rat in the Book Pile)

I loved The Vagrants and A Striped Armchair has an excellent review of Yiyun’s short story collection: Gold Boy, Emerald Girl. The book is a finalist for the 2011 Frank O’Connor Prize (last link to The Mookse and The Gripes).

Kinna Reads has a comprehensive roundup of literary prizes and awards the world over.

Umm, this is old (one month ago!), but Maud Newton wrote a great piece on David Foster Wallace’s influence on writing on the internet.

6 Responses to My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: September 22, 2011

  1. Great roundup as usual Kerry. Re White – I’ve read four of his to date (and The eye of the storm isn’t one of them) but my pick of the four I’ve read is Voss. In some ways it’s a bit different to much of his work, because it is historical rather than contemporary, but it is a great book.

    And good on you for congratulating kimbofo. An achievement indeed.

    • Kerry says:

      Thanks for the White recommendation. Every time I read your blog (almost daily), I remind myself I have to read Patrick White soon. So, I am putting it down. I will order Voss from the library soon (and maybe get myself a copy later…). And, then, I am sure, I will want to read all of his work.

  2. Kinna says:

    Thanks for the mention. Kimbofo’s accomplishment is amazing. Yiyun’s short story collection sounds wonderful. I haven’t read any of her books but I suspect that I’m going to really like her stuff.

    • Kerry says:

      Yes, I’ve only read The Vagrants, but that was enough to attest that she is an amazing writer. A Striped Armchair’s opinion goes a long way, so I am eager to get to her latest collection (then back to her first, I suppose).

  3. Sarah says:

    Thanks for the link, Kerry ūüôā

    Great article on DFW. Yep, that resonates. Wallace’s sadly immitable syntax. His style, and his alone. In the ill-advised mimic, not good. Been there, done that! Kind of an occupational hazard of reading Wallace.

Leave a Reply

