Unofficial ToB 2011 Contest: Match 3, Round 2 Leaderboard Update

Current Leaderboard:

1. (12/14) Jim
2. (11/14) Christy and Jed
3. (9/14) Amy, David, Jeremy, Kathryn, Lawrence, Matt, Meagan, Mike, Susan, and The Reading Ape.

My predicted winner of Match Three of Round Two: Model Home

Contest Entrants’ Choices: 8% The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake vs. 11% Model Home (of the four novels chosen to advance past the second round in the final bracket section, these were, as in yesterday’s match, third and fourth, respectively)

I am predicting Model Home because I enjoyed it more. Beyond the premise, I am having trouble remembering much of anything from The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake. Model Home has its flaws (including the “Arrested Development” homage), but it is a more successful fulfillment of its ambition than Lemon Cake.

7 Responses to Unofficial ToB 2011 Contest: Match 3, Round 2 Leaderboard Update

  1. Jennifer D. says:

    Wow!! Impressive Jim, Christy and Jed! Those are some good stats! 😀

  2. Jim says:

    Thanks Jennifer! Being an optimist, I’m fully convinced that from here on out all of my picks are going to be wrong. I would go back and add Skippy Dies to my zombie round picks if I could, but who knows? My gut instincts have done well by me so far!

  3. Jenny says:

    I agree that Model Home should win handily tomorrow. But you know what, I said the same thing about Bloodroot! Ultimately, I found Lemon Cake quite unsatisfying. Must have been the chocolate frosting.

    I’m not surprised Next won today, but still sort of disappointed. It is really interesting to see how different people judge books. Even the commentary today is interesting—I love to see people fighting over books. I do.

    Jenny (Neighbors73)

    • Kerry says:

      Good points, Jenny. I am heading over to read the latest Lemon Cake decision now. Fingers crossed…..

      Yes, it is great to see fighting about books, as long as it remains reasonably civil. Though, imagining people throwing things at each other in frustrated disagreement about books made me smile.

Leave a Reply

