Unofficial ToB Contest: Round 1, Match 7 Preview

Current Leaderboard:

1. (6/6) Christy
2. (5/6) Amy, David, Jim, Kathryn, Laura, Meagan, and The Reading Ape.

Twelve more have scored four out of a possible six points so far. For the record, I have managed two points out of a possible six. I would have done better throwing darts.

The predicted winner of tomorrow’s match: Super Sad True Love Story

Contest Entrants’ Choices: 85% Super Sad True Love Story vs. 15% Model Home

Two upsets in a row had me hesitating to type in Super Sad True Love Story above. Model Home was good. Better than Next. In fact, I am tempted to revise my own pick which was made before I had completed Shteyngart’s almost chuckle-free “comic novel”. There were at least as many laughs in Puchner’s impressively realist story as in Shteyngart’s work. The hair band decade as portrayed in Model Home is more convincing than the near-future setting of Super Sad True Love Story. Both are sad, both have love. Neither quite makes super which leaves to true the tie-breaking vote. Super Sad True Love Story will likely move on, but I am not convinced it should.

2 Responses to Unofficial ToB Contest: Round 1, Match 7 Preview

  1. Jenny says:

    Agreed. I put in my brackets before I finished SSTLS or Model Home. Now that I’ve read both, I definitely agree that Model Home was the better read. It was just more satisfying, what I expect to feel after reading a good novel. SSTLS felt like a lot of work.

    Jenny (neighbors73)

    • Kerry says:

      Glad I am not alone on this one. There was a point where SSTLS started to pull me in, then it spit me right back out. Model Home was more satisfying.

Leave a Reply

