Unofficial ToB Contest: Round 1, Match 1

The predicted winner of today’s match: Freedom

Contest Entrants’ Choices: 85% Freedom vs. 15% Kapitoil

While I have more affection for the very readable Kapitoil, it is not as mature a work as Freedom. Ultimately, Kapitoil relies for impact on the quirks of a computer programmer with Asperger’s Syndrome and the knowingness of post-9/11 readers engaging a post-9/11 “pre-9/11” novel. While the Berglunds come off as slightly caricatured, particularly in discussing politics, there is damn fine writing in Franzen’s book. I am not sure I will remember any passages from Kapitoil, the narrator is a computer programmer after all, but there are images and phrases from Freedom that will stay with me. The unreality of the Freedom plot is matched by Kapitoil‘s own stretches and so, regrettably (I say “regrettably” primarily because I would prefer a more obscure author to advance rather than an overpraised author), Freedom should move on.

2 Responses to Unofficial ToB Contest: Round 1, Match 1

  1. I think I should celebrate having a perfect record while I can, since it won’t last long.

    I do hope Room wins tomorrow because I very much want to see two of 2010’s most loved/hated novels go head to head.

    Lord Of Misrule should RULE!!!!!!!

    Sorry about that….

    • Kerry says:

      The odds are that you will still be perfect tomorrow, so save some confetti. I think the ToB people sort of set this up, but if the top seeds win the first round, one half of the bracket will have Freedom, Room, The Finkler Question, and A Visit From the Goon Squad. Each of them is popular and respected, but all of them have detractors too. Things will become very judge-dependent.

      No problem, passion is good. I still have So Much For That and then, happily, Lord of Misrule. I am prepared to like it, possibly even love it.

Leave a Reply

