My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: February 24, 2011

The Best Online Cultural Resources” (The Telegraph via A Momentary Taste of Being). I was mesmerized by Mitchell & Kenyon’s 35mm film footage of the Morecambe Seafront.

A Guy’s Moleskine Notebook posts on The Remains of the Day, a book I am eager to read.

A Commonplace Blog finds Nicole Krauss’s Great House lacking. I included it in my favorite reads of 2010 (though I have been waiting to post a review pending a re-read and finishing the ToB contenders). Mr. Meyers responds to the assertion that Krauss cannot write a bad sentence as follows: “It would be more truthful, though, to say that Krauss cannot write a simple sentence. To borrow a phrase from the late Wilfrid Sheed, as recalled by his friend John Simon in a tribute published in the Weekly Standard, her prose is ‘fine sentence-by-sentence writing at the expense of form.’” Ouch. This definitely gives me food for thought as I re-read.

Modes of Imagining the Writer of the Future (The Millions)

ANZ LitLovers Blog has started a series: Sensational Snippets. The latest contains actually sensational snippets from Bereft. Good stuff!

Egypt’s Protest Comedy Show (The Atlantic via 3 Quarks Daily) Because it is about an incredibly important moment in history.

The inimitable John Self on reviewing a debut author with the same name as an established author:

Clearly there is no writers’ equivalent of the Equity rule which means that no two actors may share the same professional name. This means that (a) the book reviewed here is by Nicholas Royle, Professor of English at the University of Sussex, author of many academic and literary works but now a debut novelist, and (b) I am currently working on a novel of my own to be published under the name Stephenie Meyer.

9 Responses to My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: February 24, 2011

  1. Steph says:

    Remains of the Day was by far one of my top reads of 2010. It was not my first Ishiguro, but it was the first book that made me think this guy actually has some serious chops when it comes to writing (Never Let Me Go left me thinking the opposite!). I highly recommend it (and reviewed it over at my blog if you’re interested in another gushing review! 🙂 ).

  2. Ha, Steph beat me to it. I am a huge Ishiguro fan and have read all of his novels (I think) except for one. The remains of the day was my first and I loved it. The tone is amazing. I then read his first two novels which I loved. My least favourite is probably Never let me go. I enjoyed it well enough but it didn’t quite have the same impact. I enjoyed his most recent – Nocturnes, a collection of short stories. I look forward to your take on The remains of the day, when you get to it.

    • Kerry says:

      Well, it never hurts to pile on. Ishiguro is a must read this year. And I have to decide for myself whether Never Let Me Go or Remains of the Day is better. I am starting with Remains of the Day, however. Thanks for the extra nudge!

  3. Gummy: We have exactly the same experience with Ishiguro. I’m not sure if I like Remains of the Day best because it was my first or because it is in fact the best (and no doubt the excellent movie is an influence). And while I found Never Let Me Go well-crafted, I do think overall it is his weakest. I remember a number of the stories from Nocturnes, which is a sure sign that it is a good collection.

    • Kerry says:

      Thanks for sharing your impressions, Kevin. You know that you and Whispering are valued resources and recommenders. Of course, the two of you have added a third Ishiguro to the list of need to reads. It may have to wait a year, though.

  4. Lisa Hill says:

    Reamins of the Day is my favourite too, but I really enjoyed The Unconsoled, which was the first I read, and also When We Were Orphans. I wasn’t so keen on Never Let Me Go but still glad I read it.
    Thanks for your comments about my Sensational Snippets, Kerry, i’ts nice to have somewhere to put those treasured bits of writing that I come across.

    • Kerry says:

      I see this Ishiguro is going to turn into a long term project. Remains of the Day seems the hands-down favorite, so that’s where I will start.

      Very welcome re Sensational Snippets. I look forward to reading them. Great idea for those quotes that don’t fit elsewhere on the blog but are sufficiently beautiful to warrant attention. So, thank you.

Leave a Reply

