My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: February 4, 2011

Vladimir Nabokov, eminent scientist. Just one more reason to love the man. (via Arts & Letters Daily)

Palestine’s Great Book Robbery (via 3 Quarks Daily).

How Poetry Speaks to Power in Gujarat (via 3 Quarks Daily)

As a fan of David Vann’s short story collection Legend of a Suicide, I was delighted to be reminded by the incomparable John Self that he has a new book out in 2011: Caribou Island.

The Philosophical Novel (via Maud Newton)

Irish Novels to Look Forward to in 2011 (Reading Matters)

Tony’s Book World on the Seamus Heaney translation of the Greek classic “Antigone”

Time’s Flow Stemmed posts on Memoirs of a Dutiful Daughter by Simone de Beauvoir.

3 Responses to My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: February 4, 2011

  1. Had a quick look at the Philosophical Novel essay but it was a bit too philosophical for me!! I was interested in the comment that literature (novels – poetry may be a different thing) deals with the specific and the particular. I guess that’s the case in the sense that novels tell a specific story using specific characters but I always like to draw the general or the universal from what I read. Hmm, I guess what is drawn is not so much philosophy as messages/morals etc. And that’s enough philosophising for me! Except I’m not sure I’m convinced totally …

  2. Kerry says:

    Whispering,

    I find it interesting that sentence struck you, because it made me pause and think as well. I too tend to look for general themes to be drawn from specific characters and situations. I wonder if I do that too much.

    Also, this reminds me of a post on A Commonplace Blog (D.G. Meyers) where he argues that plot serves the same purpose in literature as argument serves in philosophy. He explains this in great detail using The Age of Innocence as his model. I have mentioned this post before, but I was taken by his idea. Have a look, it rebuts, to some degree, that sentence in the article to which I linked this week.

Leave a Reply

