My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: January 28, 2011

Has anyone read Shadow Without a Name? I haven’t either but, over at A Guy’s Moleskine Notebook, the book was the subject of Monday’s Musing and is included at the top of his All-Time Favorites. His list of fourteen includes The Master and Margarita, A Separate Peace, The Brothers Karamazov, Beloved, and To the Lighthouse, all of which would be strong contenders for my own “all-time favorites” list, so Shadow Without a Name goes on my TBR.

I have not participated in a “challenge” before, so Not a Rat’s Chance in Hell Challenge will be my first. It is ideal encouragement to clear my TBR of books I have been avoiding for no good reason.

The ANZ LitLovers List of Best Australian Books. Whispering Gums gives an excellent rundown and discussion of several other “best of Australia” lists.

Bookslut reminds me that I have to read Thomas Mann’s Magic Mountain (hello, Not a Rat’s Chance in Hell Challenge), sometime in 2011….I think…

The Caustic Cover Critic interviews Melville House’s new art director Christopher King.

Laila Lalami: “After Tunisia

Sasha & The Silverfish passionately defend Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre.

2011 Best Translated Book Award Longlist (via The Mookse and the Gripes)

Between the Word and Its Object (Time’s Flow Stemmed)

David Mitchell has a short story in the Financial Times. (Scoop and analysis by Whispering Gums.)

6 Responses to My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: January 28, 2011

  1. I do love your Favourite Lit Blog things – and not just because you are kind enough to include me on occasions (twice this time – Wow!) but because I come across all sorts of interesting tidbits.

    I haven’t participated in any challenges yet either – it would have to be one that wasn’t really a challenge (ha!), that is, that I could do more or less as part of my reading programme anyhow. I’ll watch your progress with interest. You might just encourage me to dip my feet in the challenge water too.

    Meanwhile, Shadow without a name sounds like a goer too. Beloved and To the lighthouse are favourites of mine, too.

    • Kerry says:

      Mostly, the challenge seemed a great way to “force” myself to read some books I had been meaning to read for awhile. A public commitment increases the likelihood of getting through those. I feel guilty when I see some of these books sitting on the shelf, neglected.

      I am intrigued by Shadow Without a Name. I think I will give it a whirl. When, well, with the ToB and this challenge…..maybe fall…heh.

      I am going to track my progress with the challenge on my blog. I am not sure how yet….but I will mention my progress, at least.

  2. PS I’m truly tempted by the challenge. What A hoot!. I’m thinking … and in fact a couple of your choices – The native son, and Neuromancer could be mine too. Are you going to track your progress on your blog?

  3. pburt says:

    I was also intrigued by A Guy’s Moleskin’s Notebook’s (too many apostrophes) mention of Shadow Without a Name and will place an inter library loan once my current reading stack has some more wiggle room.

Leave a Reply

