Tournament of Books 2011 Contest

In support of, but having no official connection with, the Tournament of Books, I will be featuring a bracket-based contest to run simultaneously with the Tournament of Books. Basically, you predict the ToB winners by filling out the brackets and, if you do a better job than anyone else, you win a couple free books.

There will only be a first place prize, no consolation prize this year. First prize will be two books to be selected from the Tournament of Books shortlist or my list of personal favorites from 2010 (so far, ToB shortlist excluded) which I will reveal in a February post.

As ToB 2011 draws closer, I will provide additional updates and information.

10 Responses to Tournament of Books 2011 Contest

  1. Steph says:

    Sounds like fun… I’m on a book acquisition ban for a while, but I’d still like to try my hand at predicting winners!

    • Kerry says:

      Excellent. There is, of course, no need to have read the books. Guesses (without having read the books) are encouraged! To help with that, I plan to provide links to at least one reviews of each of the contenders.

      Oh, and there’s always the library to work around those pesky acquisition bans……heh….

      Thanks for the interest!

  2. Sarah says:

    I took a look last year and was dismayed by the complexity of the process. But, really, I should be able to follow simple instructions at my age.

    It does sound like a fun. And an incentive to get familiar with some (hopefully!) good books that I won’t have come across previously. Count me in!

    • Kerry says:

      I will make the instructions much more simple this year, at least, I will try to make them more simple. So, I do hope you join in, but I fail to improve upon last year’s explanation, my apologies.

      At the least, be sure to follow along at the official site and I hope to have reviews of a number of contenders up over the next month.

  3. I will, of course, be participating and, with luck, improve on my last place finish in 2010. As last year’s consolation winner, I will miss that category — but think you have made a wise decision in eliminating it.

    • Kerry says:

      Thanks, Kevin. You will be the one and only consolation prize winner. There must be some sort of distinction there.

      Thank you for being supportive. This should be an interesting year for picking. I think, more than is usual, there is not a single clear favorite (unless I am fooling myself about Freedom) and many of the favorites could get knocked out. Freedom, A Visit From the Goon Squad, Room, and Super Sad all have their boosters and detractors. I just wish Matterhorn and Great House were in the mix. I cannot have everything…

      I will be linking to your reviews when I get that preparatory post drafted. Thanks, in advance, for letting me link to your great reviews.

  4. Well, Kerry, this is only a suggestion…..

    Since you like Matterhorn so much (I haven’t read it), what about replacing last year’s “losers” contest with a post TOB contest? — say a couple weeks after the real one.

    The challenge: compare the TOB winner to Kerry’s favorite (Matterhorn) that should have been on the shortlist. And submit your choice of the two. Winner to be drawn from the majority votes for the democraticaly-chosen winner of the two.

    Then again, this might be a truly bad idea that you could ignore.

    • Kerry says:

      I think I am going to do something with some ToB longlisters that did not make the shortlist. I have already read Great House, Thousand Autumns, Ordinary Thunderstorms, The Solitude of Prime Numbers, Orion You Came and You Took All My Marbles, and The Spot. Maybe I will try for eight, Matterhorn and the other “most intriguing” to me, Aliss at the Fire. I will come up with something.

  5. anokatony says:

    I’m going to give it a try this year. I’ve already picked out my four favorites of the 16.

Leave a Reply

