My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: October 15, 2010

The Writer’s Pet is looking for book ideas for her parents.

Are Blogs the Next Big Threat to the Independent Bookstore? (The Reading Ape)

The Finkler Question has won the 2010 Man Booker Prize. I originally liked the blurb about it, then KfC convinced me it was not for me, then John Self, Trevor, and the Man Booker Prize committee strongly suggested otherwise. I think I might read it after all. Even if you don’t read the book, the discussion on the linked blogs above is extremely interesting.

Almost Lost Forever. Pictures from the Victorian era saved by happenstance and posted online. (via Reading Matters)

A pessimistic view of current fiction and MFA programs: “[T]he torture of walking into a bookshop these days: it’s not that you think the books will all be terrible; it’s that you know they’ll all have a certain degree of competent workmanship, that most will have about three genuinely beautiful or interesting sentences and no really bad ones, that many will have at least one convincing, well-observed character, and that nearly all will be bound up in a story that you can’t bring yourself to care about.”

The horror! Someone who is not friends with Fidel Castro and Hugo Chavez and who thinks capitalism isn’t all bad has won the Nobel. Oops.

4 Responses to My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: October 15, 2010

  1. Lija says:

    Thanks for the shout-out! My parents will be reading like kings! And queens.

  2. You have been quiet lately … and I’ve been away … but now I’m back I’m wondering where you are. Everything OK?

    • Kerry says:

      Thank you so much for checking on me. I have been swamped with work and a 900-page book and I didn’t like Freedom which I will post about soon (I plan to put it up on Monday). So, everything is fine, except for the fact that I have insufficient time.

      I have been remiss in not putting up a post explaining my absence, but every week I think, I will get something up…..but then, you know, life….

      Thank you, again, for checking on me.

  3. Alright then – as long as it’s just life, that’s OK. One worries sometimes about onine friends too.

    A group I’m in is reading Freedom right now, but I decided not to – I’m not particularly sorry about that and it sounds as though you’re not going to change my mind.

    (I’m embarrassed to say I haven’t finished The good soldier yet as I hardly ever get to the Kindle….)

Leave a Reply

