My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: October 7, 2010

I enjoyed this post at ANZLitLover LitBlog about Lisa’s trip to the Dublin Writers Museum and the Irish’s over-representation in the literary fields. This article at The Millions describes Greensboro, North Carolina as a “Southern Hamlet Crawling with Writers“, which struck me as something of a mini-parallel.

Does Cormac McCarthy deserve a Nobel Prize?

Giller coverage continues at Kevin from Canada and The Mookse and the Gripes.

The Mookse and the Gripes gives us the New Yorker‘s 20 Under 40 Recap.

Whispering Gums muses about endings.

Reading Matters makes a convincing case for Purge.

Incurable Logophilia starts her Woolf project.

The Classics Circuit tours the Land of the Rising Sun for Meiji Japanese Classics. Nows the time to pick a book if you intend to participate.

A Literary Revolution (Wall Street Journal Online via Arts & Letters Daily)

9 Responses to My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: October 7, 2010

  1. Thanks for the link, Kerry.

    BTW I’ve been feeling guilty about you … I am still reading The good soldier. I know, I know, it’s short but it’s the book I read when I’m out and filling in time waiting for people etc. Unfortunately too many people have been punctual. However, as a progress report, I am enjoying it. I’m liking its slow build and the way the “truth” is gradually being revealed (that is, if I’m reading it correctly). (Don’t tell me anything!)

    • Kerry says:

      Always welcome, because it WAS one of my favorite things.

      Never feel guilty on account of me. I have been meaning to post something on Freedom for a couple weeks, but still trying to find time for the last hundred pages. Max of Pechorin’s Journal surely does not believe me anymore when I tell him I will be reading Crumey’s Sputnik Caledonia and I shudder to think of all the other books (Auster’s trilogy) that I am not getting to as quickly as I would like.

      But, I am thrilled to hear that you are enjoying the “slow build” and look forward to further reports. I hope the people lay off the punctuality for a bit so you can get some reading done. Don’t they realize their obsessive attention to clocks affects others? Sheesh.

      Really, thanks for the progress report. I did find it to be quite a good book.

      • Phew, thanks for being so understanding … the pressure, the pressure can be overwhelming. I should be reading right now!

        Hmm…I guess I could try to get places early so their punctuality won’t be a problem. What do you think?

      • Kerry says:

        Lol. Yes, I always feel like I am behind on my reading. Your solution might work…

  2. verbivore says:

    “Her” Woolf project ūüôā

    I didn’t know about the Japanese Classics read, that sounds wonderful. Thanks for the link.

    • Kerry says:

      Sorry, brain fart. It has been fixed.

      Yes, the Japanese Classics read does sound intriguing. It is not an area of literature I likely would have explored soon, but, if I can find the time, I will now. And if not now, I will be adding some books to the TBR.

      • verbivore says:

        I have a little experience with Japanese classics, but nowhere near what I would like to have done. So I’m hoping to add some titles to my list as well.

  3. I fully understand Kerry about saying you’ll read something and months later it still remaining unread.

    Whenever I say it I really mean it, but I have a lot of things I mean to read. They’re on the pile. Given world enough and time I will read them.

    There was a fair old gap between my first seeing you talk about David Mitchell and my reading Ghostwritten after all (less for the Dos Passos thankfully).

    On the McCarthy bit, no, he doesn’t. I continue to think him a fine writer, but an overrated one. I may of course change my mind as I read more by him.

    • Kerry says:

      Thank you, Max, for understanding. In fact, I seriously intend to very possibly read it in 2011. I have decided on some mini-projects, one of which is working through Canadian authors via KfC’s suggestions for this year. Hopefully, I will make it through by the end of the year. Then, I decided for next year I would have a sci-fi mini-project based off your recommendations. Crumey and William Gibson’s trilogy are, I think, the four I will read on that (but let me know if there is a better plan, I don’t yet have any of hte books, so am quite flexible). Enough about my plans, if I have time to type this, I should be reading too….

      I think I agree on your McCarthy position. This is based on my reading of only three of his books, and not his best three according to Cormac afficionados: The Road, No Country for Old Men, and All the Pretty Horses. Very good, good, and almost very good. But not great.

Leave a Reply

