My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: September 30, 2010

“Snarked” has entered the lexicon. “‘Now, that made one of the friendly friends over at [Fox News Channel’s] ‘Fox & Friends’, Gretchen Carlson, so incensed this morning that her hair nearly moved!’ Colbert snarked.” (Washington Post Blog)

My Fiction Addiction” (Auxiliary Memory)

The continuing saga of the Kafka papers recounted in great length by the NY Times.

Six Scientists Answer the Question: What is the most accurate science fiction in your field? (io9)

The Ancient Dream (Boston Review via the 3 Quarks Daily) A very interesting article on Tolstoy and his wife, Sophia.

3 Responses to My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: September 30, 2010

  1. Kristin says:

    Thanks for the link to the Tolstoy article. I read “Kreutzer Sonata” last month and felt that if I was married to the person who wrote that, I would be sleeping, *armed* somewhere else. Loved the quote: “they were nonetheless driven to live as though Dostoevsky was making them up.” That, truly, would be a nightmare!

  2. Kerry says:

    You are more than welcome. Thank you for stopping by and commenting. And, yes, “Kreutzer Sonata” is pretty intense. I’d be a little concerned about sleeping with the author too.

    Nor would I want Dostoevsky to write my life. By the way, I had not come across your blog before. I like what you are doing there. Great bit on Dos Passos.

  3. Kristin says:

    Thanks. I think I found your site by searching about the Trilogy. Love your blog as well!

Leave a comment