My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: September 16, 2010

Book Bloggers Blog the Booker Books – For an excellent summary of what some of the best bloggers on the web are saying about the Booker contenders, check out The Fiction Desk.

Anton Chekhov and Katherine Mansfield in “Tales x 2” – The Narrative Magazine (registration required, but free) reprints a story from each, Chekhov’s “Sleepy” and Mansfield’s “The Child-Who-Was-Tired” (pdf version). There is little doubt that Mansfield copied Chekhov, whether intentionally or not, and was vaulted into the literary limelight as a darling. The sincerest form of flattery can be a career boost, I suppose.

Interpolations asks a question about the narrator of Wharton’s Ethan Frome and A Commonplace Blog answers.

Book Blogger Appreciation Week (hat tip: A Guy’s Moleskine Notebook and A Striped Armchair) Check out BBAW Day 4: Forgotten Treasures for various bloggers’ take on underappreciated books. (Or just go straight to Shelf Love for Jenny’s and Teresa’s picks.) (Or, just check in with Reading Matters for her Triple Choice Thursdays. This week: Lizzy’s Literary Life is the blogger to pick a favorite, a book that changed her, and a book that deserves a wider audience.)

Another Cookie Crumbles reviews Mikhail Bulgakov’s The Master and Margarita. Hooray! She liked it and calls it: “…humorous in bits, and thought-provoking in chunks…”

A review of Jeffrey Eugenide’s The Virgin Suicides (A Rat in the Book Pile) I loved Middlesex but haven’t read anything else by Eugenide’s. Shame on me.

Jose Saramago is getting the love. John Self reviews Blindness while Lisa Hill reviews The Double. I have not read anything by Saramago. What’s worse than shame on me.

The Mona Lisa has no eyebrows?!? (Only Words to Play With)

The Mookse and the Gripes enjoyed Jennifer Egan’s The Goon Squad so much, he went out and bought The Keep.

6 Responses to My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: September 16, 2010

  1. Teresa says:

    Thanks for the shout-out!

    And both of those Saramago books are excellent. As it happens, they are also the only Saramago books that I’ve read, but they are definitely worth the time. The language, as strange as it is, is surprisingly readable and even funny.

  2. Kerry says:

    You are very welcome, thanks for the great blog.

    I see Saramago is going to have to be a sooner rather than a later. Thanks for the extra push. He goes on the TBR.

  3. verbivore says:

    I’ve yet to read Saramango as well, but I picked up Blindness over the summer and am secretly inching it higher up the tbr pile every time I pass.

    • Kerry says:

      Good call. Blindness is one of those novels that I really should read before it gets too old. It would be a little silly of me to wait another 15 years to read such an important novel that, really, I should have read around the time it first came out. But, something to anticipate….

      I’ll be looking out for your thoughts/review.

  4. Sarah says:

    Thanks for the link, Kerry. I am disappointed not to find your take on Middlesex here. Fortuntately I was not seeking to be persuaded, since Uncertain Principle’s review has already achieved that, but I would love to hear what you too make of Eugenides, with whom I am rather impressed.

    Enjoyed the discussion on Ethan Frome which you highlight. Nice pick. Notice that you didn’t air an opinion…?

    • Kerry says:

      Sarah,

      More than welcome, I enjoyed your review and being reminded of Eugenides. I have only read Middlesex, but I think he is a fabulously talented author. It is hard for me to say he is underrated having only read one of his highly rated books, but the guy is good. There were strongly autobiographical elements in Middlesex, so perhaps I was connecting with the close emotion he could tap for that one.

      The discusions on Ethan Frome: Well, my reply was going to be, simply, “J.M. Coetzee”, but I saw D.G. Meyers had provided a lengthier response AND I really felt that Interpolations Kevin was trying to point to beautiful prose rather than saying there are no engineers who could write beautifully. It is not the stereotype, but certainly there are well-rounded engineers who write poetry or prose in their spare time. And Kevin surely knows this as well as I do. Even so, I thought D.G. Meyers’ response was sufficiently interesting to warrant a link.

Leave a Reply

