My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: March 20, 2010

The Black Warrier Review has a review of Daniel Mendelsohn’s How Beautiful It Is and How Easily It Can Be Broken, a collection of criticism that looks very enticing.

Lisa Hill at ANZ LitLovers LitBlog is covering the 2010 Miles Franklin Literary Award.

Bookslut has Micah McCrary’s article “On the Romance and Appeal of the Used Book.

Kimbofo at Reading Matters also links to prize longlists (Miles Franklin, Orange, and, best, the Independent Foreign Fiction). She also has a great review of Lionel Shriver’s So Much For That.

“Moore’s 2009 novel, A Gate at the Stairs, shows the most precipitous decline into banality and unearned emotion yet. It may be the worst novel by a “name” author I’ve ever read…” Ouch. But I tend to agree.

Eva, at A Striped Armchair, has a great post as part of the Science Book Challenge 2010. The book is Microcosm: E.Coli and the New Science of Life by Carl Zimmer.

The Big Other is organizing a group read of At Swim-Two-Birds. (hat tip: The Millions)

How to be Brilliant

5 Responses to My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: March 20, 2010

  1. Lisa Hill says:

    I do enjoy these regular summaries of what’s about in the blogosphere! Thank you so much for sharing them -I always find something interesting…and then a new book to ‘need’ LOL
    Cheers
    Lisa

  2. Kerry says:

    Thank you, Lisa.

    I am very glad it is enjoyable. And I will be watching your Franklin coverage. I am enjoying following your downs and ups with Sons of the Rumor. Sounds TBR worthy so far. I’ll be checking back for the verdict.

    Kerry

  3. Lisa Hill says:

    Oh yes, Sons of the Rumour is a terrific book! It’s not a straightforward narrative and that may put some people off but once you ‘go with the flow’ it’s seriously good fun.
    Can you buy it overseas, or would you need to import it?

  4. Kerry says:

    It turns out, that I will have to import the book. The Book Depository lists it, but they are out of stock. I asked them to let me know when they get it.

    Oh, and while looking, I ran across David Foster Wallace’s Everything and More: A Compact History of Infinity that I must have. You are now responsible for two TBR additions. Thanks!

  5. Lisa Hill says:

    *chuckle* I think I might be responsible for quite a few groaning TBRs!

Leave a Reply

