TOB 2010 Contest Update #2

With five out of eight first round matches complete, Lizzy, Chris, and Christy maintain a tentative one point lead in the Contest having all managed four out of a possible five. However, these last three matches will shake things up. Tomorrow and Wednesday’s matches have the entire field split, while one of our leaders (Christy) has gone the less-traveled route with Atwood.

It is mathematically impossible for the same three-way tie for first to last the week.

In actual TOB news, Wolf Hall has managed the expected. Even with a quick exit, I think Logicomix was a winner. I haven’t read it yet, but it sounds like a perfect introduction to graphic novels for me. I have not finished Wolf Hall, but it and Mantel deserve their reputations.

4 Responses to TOB 2010 Contest Update #2

  1. Christy says:

    I read Logicomix over the weekend and had mixed feelings. It was my first graphic novel, but I’m not sure the label “novel” really fits. It reads more like biography/non-fiction, and as if its purpose was to make philosophy and logic more interesting to college students with a short attention span. (I had a Cartoon Guide to Genetics in college biology that did just that.) While it succeeds on that level, it just isn’t in the same category with the other entries in the TOB.

    As for Mantel, I’d have picked Wolf Hall no matter the match-up. It’s one of the best books I’ve read in the last year.

  2. Kerry says:

    I am very interested in your reaction to Logicomix. You have worn away some of my enthusiasm, which is a good thing. I will definitely read it, but you make some good points both about this particular book and the limitations (perhaps) of graphic novels generally. I was never much of a comic book fan, always having preferred novels (or Dr. Seuss), so maybe the leap is too much for me. Still, I am pretty sure I will enjoy it. I am just not sure I will be seeking out many of these.

    I still less than half way through Wolf Hall, but it is a brilliant work. I understand the comments of those that do not like the alternate history aspects, but it remains a powerful achievement nonetheless (unless something falls apart, but the writing is superb and Cromwell is an excellent character).

  3. I find it interesting that both the entry and commentary today are more about book format than they are about book content. I fear this is the major problem with the ToB — they care more about how a book is delivered that what it says (you only have to read the commentators to see that). I will admit that the Tournament is in tune with the times; there is a part of me that is deeply upset.

  4. Kerry says:

    Great point, Kevin. The ratio of format to content was skewed heavily toward the former. I think you raise a good point and, while I like the transparency and (ostensibly) broad scope of the Tournament of Books, it certainly is not perfect. In fact, I really like your Shadow Jury format for the Giller. Of course, you and your fellow Shadow jurors are limited to a shortlist made for you, but I think there may be an opportunity (if you have the inclination) to run a late spring/early summer tournament that combines the best of the TOB and the Giller Shadow jury.

    All this to say, I have seen the shortcomings (The Help?). I enjoy it, but things could definitely be better.

Leave a Reply

