2010 TOB: Let the Great World Spin vs. Miles From Nowhere

The Tournament has officially kicked off. The first round is underway with an interesting match: Let the Great World Spin versus Miles From Nowhere.

Rosencrans Baldwin wisely declared McCann’s work the winner. The peanut gallery concurs.

I have to agree. On ambition alone, Let the Great World Spin towers above Miles From Nowhere. I thought both had structural defects, but Let the Great World Spin accomplished more on the road to imperfection. Mun’s was a good first effort, but it felt like a first effort. So far, I agree with the judges. This one was not close.

If you need more convincing, every entrant in my 2010 TOB Contest got this one right. No other first round match has such unanimity, so the first was the most boring. Tomorrow, the picks are split. I have only read one (so far), but I feel strongly about who should win the Wray-Stockett duel.

2 Responses to 2010 TOB: Let the Great World Spin vs. Miles From Nowhere

  1. Amy says:

    I’d have to go with Wray for tomorrow’s match, although I didn’t dislike The Help as much as you did.

  2. Kerry says:

    Thanks for the comment, Amy. I am obviously cheering for Wray in this one (and it is on my shelf waiting for me to get out of trial), but I do realize there is a large contingent of people who really like it. I just hope they have not infiltrated the ranks of Rooster judges.

Leave a Reply

