2010 Tournament of Books Contest

This year, I am running a contest based on the outcome of the 2010 Tournament of Books.

Prizes:

The top prize will be the winner’s choice of one TOB contender and one pick from the Hungry Like a Woolf archives with the format (i.e. cover type/publisher/etc.) to be chosen by me at my sole discretion.

A second (consolation) prize will be awarded as long as two or more entrants beat my own score, which I will post no later than Sunday, March 7, 2010 at 11:59pm Eastern Standard Time (US). I will randomly choose one of the entrants (excluding the top prize winner) whose score is better than my own as the winner of the consolation prize. The consolation prize will be the consoled individual’s choice of either one of the 2010 TOB contenders OR a book from the Hungry Like the Woolf archives.

Eligibility and Entry Requirements:

Everyone, everywhere is eligible, except for me and my immediate family. There is absolutely no entry fee, obligation, or purchase required. However, I would be very pleased if the winner chose to return with his/her thoughts (in comments to my review of the book or in a link in comments) after reading the prize picks.

Entries must be received by March 6, 2010 at 11:59pm Eastern Standard Time (US). Entries must be in the format indicated below.

Rules:

Each entrant should e-mail their entry to: kerry_7 at yahoo. The subject line should read: 2010 TOB Contest

One entry per person, please. Include your name and mailing address in the body of the entry.

Look at the official Tournament of Books 2010 brackets and select one winner from each of the 1st Round matches (8 picks). Then, select one winner from each of the 2nd Round matches (4 picks). Then, select a winner of each of the third round matches (2 picks) and two books (Reader Pick 1 and Reader Pick 2 in the bracket) that, in your bracket, were knocked out in an earlier round (2 picks). Then, select a winner for each Semi-Final match (2 picks). Then, select the overall winner (1 pick). Finally, as a tie-breaker, guess how many votes the winner will receive (out of a possible 17).

You should fill out, at least mentally, the brackets. In other words, your 2nd Round winners must come from the pool of 1st Round winners you pick. 3rd Round winners must come from your four 2nd Round winners. If the above is not clear, please ask for clarification in the comments.

Remember, Reader Pick 1 and Reader Pick 2 will be the two books that received the highest number of The Morning News reader votes AND that were knocked out by a judge in Rounds 1, 2, or 3. Choose accordingly.

Please format your entry as follows (using last name only of the author of your pick):

Round 1 Winners
[pick 1], [pick 2], [pick 3], [pick 4], [pick 5], [pick 6], [pick 7], [pick 8]

Round 2 Winners
[pick 1], [pick 2], [pick 3], [pick 4]

Round 3 Winners and Zombies
[pick 1], [pick 2], [pick 3], [pick 4]

Zombie Round Winners (Finalists)
[pick 1], [pick 2]

Winner
[pick 1]

Points will be awarded as follows:
Each correct 1st Round pick – 1 point
Each correct 2nd Round pick – 2 points
Each correct 3rd Round/Zombie pick – 2 points
Each correct Zombie Round pick – 4 points
Correct pick of Winner – 8 points
Total Possible Points = 40

Please note: You will receive points for your Round 3/Zombie picks even if your “Zombie” pick actually turns out to be a Round 3 winner or vice versa. In other words, I will simply pool your Round 3 and Zombie picks and award points if your pick makes it into that section of the bracket.

All points will be totaled. The highest score wins.

Other Info:

I will make every effort to provide reasonable updates on the scoring. The timeliness of the updates, as the chances of winning, depend on the number of entries.

For complete rules of the official Tournament of Books (which is in no way associated with this contest), please check the official homepage of the 2010 Tournament of Books.

For links to reviews to help you make your picks, please click here.

Finally, if the rules or entry requirements are at all confusing, please let me know in the comments.

I hope everyone has fun. Good luck!

[Update 2/27/10: In the event of a tie for the top prize, I will randomly select a winner from among those tied for highest score.]

10 Responses to 2010 Tournament of Books Contest

  1. I’m sorry Kerry, but I can’t resist — never let a lawyer design a contest :-). My choice for the weekend is either to read a 400-page novel or figure out my entry for the ToB contest on Hungry Like the Woolf. I will, of course, opt for figuring out my entry.

    Thanks for doing this. There are very good books on this list that I have read and, I suspect, I a number that I have not. One hopes that the process will point me at books that I should read.

  2. I’ve emailed my entry (please let me know if you did not receive it or I made a mistake). I think I deserve at least two bonus points for being the first entry.

    ūüôā

    Kevin

  3. Kerry says:

    Kevin,

    LOL. Maybe a simple: fill out the brackets and send it to me would have sufficed, huh?

    I am hoping that the discussion and contest will help introduce compatible books and readers to each other. There are some very good books participating. Some increased work is making it less likely that I will get through the remaining entries prior to the start of Round 1, but I will keep plugging along slowly.

  4. Kerry says:

    Kevin,

    I have received your entry. I actually meant to put in that ties would be resolved by order of entry, but forgot. Thought I shouldn’t change the rules ex post facto.

    Good luck!

  5. Kerry says:

    Kevin, can you let me know your tiebreak number (9-17, based on how many votes you think Russo (or other winner) will get in the Finals.) Otherwise, everything looks great!

  6. I was just teasing abou the complexity of the contest — although it was a good idea to post your own entry because it shows it is not the difficult to fill out a form.

    Please put 11 down as my tie-break number.

    Thanks for doing this.

  7. Kerry says:

    Thank you, Kevin, for suggesting the format and being an early participant.

  8. […] modification to the consolation prize. You may enter for that prize either by filling out a bracket as described here (my predictions here) OR by leaving a comment below indicating your wish to be entered for the […]

  9. lizzysiddal says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog, Kerry … and if Kevin has entered, he needs some competition. Ill-informed on my part as I’ve only read one of the 16. But you never know.

    • Kerry says:

      It was my pleasure. Thank you for returning the favor.

      Kevin does need some competition and don’t worry about being ill-informed. That’s why I provided a collection of quotes from various bloggers about each of the books and, more importantly, I still fill out NCAA brackets every year despite not having watched any of the contenders in any of the past 7-8 seasons. Go alphabetical, go by mascot (if the authors have them), go by title, go by any random criteria, but I encourage you to go. And either way, you are entered in the consolation pool.

      Thank you for stopping by and entering the contest. The more entries, the more fun!

Leave a Reply

