My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: January 29, 2010

Over at The Volokh Conspiracy (a legal blog), Orin Kerr asked for Bad Names of Legal Blogs (hypothetically speaking). My favorites (as in most funny and actually kind of good) from his comments:
1. ThreeGenerationsOfImbeciles.com (from a Justice Holmes Opinion)
2. TheFertileOctogenarian.com (every law student learns about these in trusts & estates, you have to assume an 80-year old woman might have children, basically)
3. NakedRestraints.com (a term from antitrust law)

Any suggestions for bad (or funny) book blog names are welcome, encouraged in fact, in the comments.

Sarah of “Sarah’s Books” fame has renamed her blog: “A Rat in the Book Pile“.

What Makes a Great Teacher?

The Death of Fiction? (The title should be: The Death of Literary Magazines?)

Least favorite things:

J.D. Salinger has died at the age of 91. (Paper Cuts; Rolling Stone;

3 Responses to My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: January 29, 2010

  1. Sarah says:

    Thanks for the mention, Kerry. I am (audibly) amused to find my new blog name in close juxtaposition with a discussion of bad blog names!

    My suggestions are on the destructive side, but I am usually delighted by the creativity of book blog names; it is hard to imagine a bad one. Although I don’t suppose that ‘Fahrenheit 451’ would be well received…

    Or how about:
    The Shredder
    Spine Breakers
    Marginalia

    Actually, I quite like the idea of ‘Marginalia’ and should probably have checked that it doesn’t exist first…

  2. Kerry says:

    Sarah,

    I LOVE your new blog name. Plus, the post on “bad” blog names really ended up being (in the comments) a post on funny or whimsical blog names. For instance, I actually liked the first two I listed and found the third funny.

    You should take it as a compliment. I think your new blog name is awesome.

    I also like your suggestions. “Fahrenheit 451” and “Spine Breakers” are running neck and neck for best worst book blog name. Thanks for participating.

    I suppose I should make a contribution. Let’s see…

    The Thought Police (from 1984)

    Ignorance is Strength (also from 1984)

    An Insignificant Book (Virginia Woolf in A Room of One’s Own)

    It Was A Dark and Stormy Blog (adaptation from Edward Bulwer-Lytton’s opening line in Paul Clifford (1830)) [re-edited because I think it is worse by keeping the “It Was…”]

    Kerry

  3. Sarah says:

    Sorry, Kerry. I didn’t seriously think that you were holding me up as a shining example of how not to name a blog, but the notion was pretty funny. I like compliments too, (and am not unappreciative of your kind remarks above) but laughing at oneself is no bad thing.

    Great (bad) blog names. I thought 1984 ought to be good for one, but remained uninspired. ‘The Thought Police’ is excellently bad, and I love ‘Ignorance is Strength.’ I can visualise a kind of spoof blog… which would probably go horribly wrong!

Leave a Reply

