My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: January 14, 2010

Robert Wright interviews Rebecca Goldstein regarding her new novel “36 Arguments for the Existence of God: A Work of Fiction”.

Because I enjoy Jonathan Lethem’s writing and I am about to start Chronic City.

Max has attracted excellent and extended comments relating to translations via a post on his 2010 reading plans (Proust and the various Russian “superfluous man” novels by Tolstoy, Oblomov, Lermontov, etc.). Plus, his new header is superb.

Adam’s Family Jewels“, an article subtitled: “Keep that Bible out of reach of children.”

A new-to-me lit-blog covers Melville and Wharton. Awesome.

Small publishers identify the books they wish that they had published in 2009. Via Maud Newton.

2 Responses to My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: January 14, 2010

  1. Sarah says:

    Thanks Kerry, for ‘Adam’s Family Jewels.’ A fascinating article. I wish I’d been familiar with some of those interpretations back in my university Bible study days. Might have given my ‘you can’t take the Bible completely literally’ a little more oomph and saved me a (metaphorical) bashing.

  2. Kerry says:

    Sarah,

    Glad you enjoyed it, sorry it is a few years late. I thought it was quite an interesting article. And the point about taking the Bible literally was a good one, even if you were bashed.

Leave a Reply

