My Favorite Lit-Blog Things – August 12, 2009

ANZ LitLovers LitBlog has the scoop on several contenders on the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards fiction shortlist.

The Not-The-Booker (very) longlist is up. You can vote for your favorites to go on the shortlist. I am waiting for John Self‘s review of All The Colours Of The Town by Liam McIvanney, forthcoming tomorrow.

The Fiction Desk has an excellent guide to blog coverage of the Booker.

The Mookse and the Gripes has added to the coverage of Colm Toibin’s Brooklyn with an excellent review. I was wavering whether to start my Toibin reading with it, but I will now. You can find other excellent reviews of Brooklyn at The Asylum and Kevin From Canada.

As if there weren’t enough The Asylum references in this post, I enjoyed his review of this book which sounds very interesting.

Because I am a bibliophile who loves physics, I found this feature article over at the BookSlut to be fascinating.

My daughter asks the TV in the background: “Then who will fight crime on a daily basis? Hmmm?” Time to step into a void.

2 Responses to My Favorite Lit-Blog Things – August 12, 2009

  1. Joanna says:

    Hey, Kerry: I have just finished a fabulous little book – “The Art of Racing in the Rain” – written by a dog, whose insights are far beyond those of most of us humans. It is fast, easy reading but contains profound universal truths that I have memorized so that I can implement them in my own life. I highly recommend it. And when my 3 friends have finished reading it, Kerry, You are welcome to borrow my copy. But this one I have to get back so that I can read it again. Amen. Love, Joanna.

  2. Kerry says:

    Who can turn down a work by a philosopher dog? I will look forward it. Thanks for the offer and the tip, Joanna.

Leave a Reply

