My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: September 15, 2011

The Shadow Giller Jury is back (plus one) and in full reading mode. KfC’s most recent review is here. Links to the most recent reviews by other Shadow Jurors here.

What Professional Critics Can Learn From Book Bloggers by Jeff O’Neal of Reading Ape fame.

Booker (and Giller!) coverage is everywhere. Another good place to go (besides the links above) is Just William’s Luck. He has a nice review of the “curiously enjoyable tale of murderous mayhem” that is The Sisters Brothers.

As if I, like any book blogger, needs more objects of desire. (Caustic Cover Critic).

The Fiction Desk (as publisher) is coming out with another anthology of stories: All These Little Worlds.

While I owe Nicholson Baker a debt (see my review of Siste Viator), I now owe Tony for making sure that the next Baker book I read will not be House of Holes. I’m not saying I won’t read it, but it will certainly have to wait until after The Mezzanine, at least. Tony’s list of adjectives describing Baker’s latest seems like a great way to review the book.

I have no book, and I must read.” A heartbreaking post by Max at Pechorin’s Journal. No, really, it sucks if you’ve ever been there.

If you admire Jane Austen or loathe V.S. Naipaul or simply want to read a long but excellent piece on gender in literature, Audrey Bilger’s “Just Like a Woman” in the Los Angeles Review of Books is for you.

6 Responses to My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: September 15, 2011

  1. anokatony says:

    Hi Hungry,
    Even though I wrote it, I’m not sure I want to take credit for it. I didn’t know how else to approach ‘House of Holes’..

    • Kerry says:

      The book definitely sounds unique, let’s say, so an extraordinary approach seems appropriate. I enjoyed the review and I enjoyed being (for me, not for others, perhaps) warned away from the book for now.

  2. Great to see your Lit-blog posts back Kerry … and thanks muchly for that link to the JA article. Very timely as my local JA group’s month’s meeting is tomorrow. I’ll read this article in bed over breakfast.

  3. Thanks for the link to the Jane Austen article, Kerry. I read and enjoyed Wiliam Deresiewicz’s book recently and I appreciate having someone else’s take on it.
    PS I wrote my MA thesis on Jane Austen’s novels in 1982 when she was very much out of fashion and can’t help being surprised at what a popular success she has become these days.

    • Kerry says:

      Glad you enjoyed it, Anna. It has been awhile since I read something by Austen. I should probably reacquaint myself with her works. Hers were some of the first classics I chose for myself and I regard her highly. (Though I am not having a great deal of success interesting my 14-year old into her books just yet.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

