My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: December 2, 2009

It is hard to go wrong with Lewis Caroll and James Joyce and linquistic play.

More James Joyce at ANZ Lit Blog. I am enjoying her Joyce posts so much, I must start in on the Master myself. Dubliners first, then Ulysses, then Finnegans Wake. Everything good starts with a pile.

From Laila Lalami, this thought-provoking essay on “The Muslim Question” in The Nation. Is Europe’s answer “The New Inquisition“?

The Millions has recapped “A Year in Reading 2009“. I will not be writing any such entries until 2010, but I am glad others are working on a different calendar…..

Meanwhile, I am shocked, shocked to discover that the 2009 New York Times’ 100 Notables list is “Snoozeworthy“. The gambling I knew.

I can’t read this yet because Paul Auster’s Invisible is in my TBR, but maybe you can…..

And, finally, “Five American Masterpieces” you may not even know exist.

2 Responses to My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: December 2, 2009

  1. Mustafa says:

    Just a quick note to say you have a nice blog, and I’m looking forward to reading some of your recommended authors. I read Joyce’s first three books when I was much younger, but Finnegan’s Wake appears to be written in a language other than English—and I only mean that half humorously—so I was never able even break through the first couple of pages. I’d be interested to hear your thoughts on it.

    As far as “The New Inquisition” article, as I’ve gotten older I’ve come to the conclusion that human nature dictates a certain level of blind hatred for “the other,” and that there is a lack of critical thinking on the part of most people when it comes to understanding complex social issues, especially those involving religion.

  2. Kerry says:

    Mustafa,

    Thank you for stopping in and commenting. You’ll notice I put Finnegans Wake last on my list. But I do intend to work on Joyce in 2010. My reading time this month being spoken for already.

    I think you are absolutely right. Humans, generally, do seem to be hard-wired to categorize people as either “us” or “them” and to distrust, shun, or hate “them”. This tendency does present, as you say, an obstacle to rationale discourse on complex social issues. So much the worse for all of us.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

